Day 5. Lots Of Steeps

I have made it to Corbridge and have only 95 mile to go. Today’s run was maybe the shortest I’ve managed: 40 miles, but it was some of the toughest.

I suppose that over the centuries, the easiest, flatest routes have been developed into A roads, and as A roads is what I am trying to avoid, that leaves me on the steeps in Co. Durham. However, today’s route: (Aycliffe, Bishop Auckland, Willington, Stanley, Waterhouses, Longedge Lane, Rowley and then the A68 to Corbridge) was so gruelling and slow I relented and took the A road at Rowley. I liked all the route after Willington and liked the steep inclines, but had to go flat out to avoid walking on a number of climbs.

In Yorkshire they signpost the 20% inclines but in Co. Durham they don’t, as its normal.

At the top of these steep inclines, I found it was windy and where its windy there are ofcouse wind turbines and I sat and had lunch by one at Stanley.

Tomorrow is mostly Northumberland and should be some of Scotland, but not sure if I can find an alternative to the A road, will try.

A new wind turbine going up at Stanley, Co. Durham.jpg

A new wind turbine going up at Stanley, Co. Durham.jpg

Moody shot which sums up Northumberland.jpg

Moody shot which sums up Northumberland.jpg

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.



Categories: Cycling around renewables

Tags: , , ,

1 reply

  1. wow Jim, you are doing amazingly well! Very chuffed for you.Hope you enjoyed my home county.. x

Leave a Reply

